Statistics Canada - Government of Canada
General accessibility informationSkip all menus and go to content.Home - Statistics Canada logo Skip main menu and go to secondary menu. Français 1 of 5 Contact Us 2 of 5 Help 3 of 5 Search the website 4 of 5 Internal Communications Network 5 of 5
Skip secondary menu and go to the module menu. The Daily 1 of 7
Census 2 of 7
Canadian Statistics 3 of 7 Community Profiles 4 of 7 Our Products and Services 5 of 7 Home 6 of 7
Other Links 7 of 7

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Population and Dwelling Counts About the Data Users' Help Guide Jean Talon 2001 Census Standard Data Products Reference Products Maps Analysis Series Custom services Geography About the Census 2001 Census Teacher’s kit Census of Agriculture 1996 Census 2006 Census Communiqué - Important information on Census product updates and revisions
Home > 2001 Census: Data products > Population and Dwelling Counts >

Population and Dwelling Counts, 2001 Census


To view tables providing population and dwelling counts established by the 2001 Census of Canada, select from the following geographic areas and statistical classifications. These tables are also available in print in A National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts.

Please note that the most appropriate 2001 population figures for Canada, provinces and territories are the current postcensal population estimates. See the explanatory note.

Some tables provide land area, population density and population rank information for the 2001 Census. Many tables provide more than one geographic level for viewing the data; for example, view census subdivision (CSD) data for all of Canada, or by individual province or territory, or by census metropolitan area (CMA) or census agglomeration (CA). See the definitions of geographic terms.

Care should be exercised in comparing the 2001 Census counts of total dwellings (including both occupied and unoccupied) with dwelling counts from the 1996 and earlier population and dwelling count releases. For 2001, the count of total dwellings in some areas is substantially higher than reported for the 1996 Census of Canada. The increase in the total number of dwellings between 1996 and 2001 is directly linked to our efforts to improve the coverage of seasonal dwellings. Based on our consultation process for 2001 and the requirements to simplify collection procedures and improve overall coverage of dwellings, the 2001 Census private dwelling definition was modified slightly from previous censuses to eliminate one criterion - access to a source of drinking water throughout the year. The result was that more private dwellings were counted in the 2001 Census - specifically more seasonal dwellings (secondary residences such as cottages, cabins and/or chalets) that now meet the private dwelling definition.

For the 2001 Census, a private dwelling is defined as:

A set of living quarters designed for or converted for human habitation in which a person or group of persons reside or could reside. In addition, a private dwelling must have a source of heat or power and must be an enclosed space that provides shelter from the elements, as evidenced by complete and enclosed walls and roof and by doors and windows that provide protection from wind, rain and snow.

After the release of the population and dwelling counts, errors are occasionally uncovered in the data. It is not possible to make changes to the 2001 Census data presented in these tables. However, to obtain the population and dwelling count amendments for census subdivisions (CSD) and other levels of geography, see the population and dwelling count amendments.

Top of Page

[Home | Search | Contact Us | Français]
Date modified: Important Notices

Statistique Canada - Gouvernement du Canada
Renseignements généraux sur accessibilitéÉviter tous les menus et aller au contenu.Accueil - Logo de Statistique Canada Éviter le menu principal et aller au menu secondaire. English 1 de 5 Contactez-nous 2 de 5 Aide 3 de 5 Recherche site web 4 de 5 Réseau de communications internes 5 de 5
Éviter le menu secondaire et aller au menu des rubriques. Le quotidien 1 de 7
Recensement 2 de 7
Le Canada en statistiques 3 de 7 Profils des communautés 4 de 7 Nos produits et services 5 de 7 Accueil 6 de 7
Autres liens 7 de 7
 

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Contenu archivé

L'information indiquée comme étant archivée est fournie aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Chiffres de population et des logements À propos des données Besoin d'aide? Produits de données normalisés Produits de référence Cartes géographiques Analyses Services personnalisés Géographie À propos du recensement Trousse de l’enseignant : Recensement de 2001 Recensement de l'agriculture 2001 Recensement 1996 Recensement de 2006 Communiqué - Renseignements importants sur les modifications et mises à jour apportées aux produits du recensement Jean Talon Recensement de 2001
Accueil > Recensement de 2001 : Produits de données > Chiffres de population et des logements >

Chiffres de population et des logements, Recensement de 2001

93F0051XIF

Pour visualiser des tableaux des chiffres de population et des logements établis à partir du Recensement du Canada de 2001, sélectionnez une des régions géographiques ou des classifications statistiques suivantes. Ces tableaux sont également offerts en version imprimée dans Un aperçu national : Chiffres de population et des logements.

Les utilisateurs devraient noter que les chiffres de population de 2001 les plus appropriés pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires sont les estimations démographiques postcensitaires actuelles. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir la note explicative.

Certains tableaux présentent des données sur la superficie des terres, la densité de la population et le classement de la population pour le recensement de 2001. De nombreux tableaux permettent de visualiser les données pour plusieurs niveaux géographiques; par exemple, ils permettent de visualiser les données des subdivisions de recensement (SDR) pour l'ensemble du Canada, ou par province ou territoire, ou encore par région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) ou agglomération de recensement (AR). Consultez les définitions des termes géographiques.

Il importe de faire preuve de circonspection lorsqu'on compare les chiffres totaux des logements (occupés et inoccupés) du recensement de 2001 avec les chiffres des logements de 1996 et les chiffres de population et des logements diffusés précédemment. Le nombre total de logements dénombrés dans certaines régions en 2001 est beaucoup plus élevé que celui diffusé au recensement du Canada de 1996. Cette augmentation du nombre total de logements entre 1996 et 2001 est directement liée aux mesures que nous avons prises pour améliorer la couverture des logements saisonniers. À la lumière des résultats du processus de consultation pour le recensement de 2001 et afin de simplifier les procédures de collecte et d'améliorer la couverture globale des logements, nous avons modifié légèrement la définition de logement privé afin d'éliminer un critère, soit celui de l'accès en permanence à une source d'eau potable. Par conséquent, un plus grand nombre de logements privés ont été dénombrés au recensement de 2001, plus particulièrement des logements saisonniers (résidences secondaires comme des chalets ou des maisonnettes pour touristes) qui répondent maintenant à la définition de logement privé.

Pour le recensement de 2001, un logement privé se définit par :

Un ensemble de pièces d'habitation conçues ou transformées qu'occupent ou pourraient occuper une personne ou un groupe de personnes. De plus, un logement privé doit être doté d'une source de chauffage ou d'énergie et doit fournir un espace clos permettant de s'abriter des intempéries, comme en atteste la présence de murs d'enceinte et d'un toit ainsi que de portes et fenêtres offrant une protection contre le vent, la pluie et la neige.

À la suite de la diffusion des chiffres de population et des logements, des erreurs sont occasionnellement relevées dans les données. Il est impossible d'apporter des changements aux données du recensement de 2001 qui sont présentées dans ces tableaux. Toutefois, pour obtenir les modifications aux chiffres de population et des logements touchant les subdivisions de recensement (SDR) et d'autres niveaux géographiques, veuillez consulter les modifications aux chiffres de population et des logements.




Page d'accueil | Recherche | Contactez-nous | English Retour au haut de la page
Date de modification : 2012-07-17 Avis importants

DCSIMG