Figure 10 Historical comparability rule


Figure 10 is a graphical representation of the historical comparability rule (rule 5) for delineating census metropolitan areas (CMAs) and census agglomerations (CAs). Two fictional groupings, layered one on top of the other, of 11 census subdivisions (CSDs) shown as polygons labelled 'A' through 'K,' represent the group of CSDs that could form a CMA. Both groupings are identical except the grouping on top is labelled 'Current census'while the grouping underneath is labelled 'Previous census.'

All of CSD A and a small portion of the adjacent CSD B are shaded to represent a population centre (POPCTR). This population centre also makes up the core of the CMA. Census subdivision E has a small, shaded polygon within it that identifies a population centre that is not part of the core.

An arrow extends from CSD J in the previous census layer to CSD J in the current census layer to represent the inclusion of CSD J in the current version of the CMA since it was included in the previous CMA.

A thick black line outlines the perimeter of CSDs A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and J to identify the boundary of the CMA.

Two legends appear below the figure. The legend on the left identifies the symbols used in the figure for representing the CMA, CSD, POPCTR and core boundaries and the commuting flows. The legend on the right distinguishes which CSDs are included in the CMA by which rule. For this figure, CSDs A, B and C are included under rule 1 (core rule), CSD D is included under rule 2 (forward commuting flow rule), CSD E is included under rule 3 (reverse commuting flow rule), CSDs F, G, H and I are included under rule 4 (spatial contiguity rule), and CSD J is included under rule 5 (historical comparability rule).

For more information on this figure, please contact Statistics Canada at 1-800-263-1136.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Figure 10  Historical comparability rule
Date modified: