Figure 6 Core rule


Figure 6 is a graphical representation of the core rule (rule 1) for delineating census metropolitan areas (CMAs) and census agglomerations (CAs). A fictional grouping of 11 census subdivisions (CSDs), shown as polygons labelled 'A' through 'K,' represent the group of CSDs that could form a CMA.

All of CSD A and a small portion of the adjacent CSD B are shaded to represent a population centre (POPCTR). This population centre also makes up the core of the CMA. Since CMAs are built on CSDs, all of CSDs A and B are included in the CMA because of the core rule. Census subdivision E has a small, shaded polygon within it that identifies a population centre that is not part of the core.

Census subdivision C is a small CSD that exists within the larger CSD B. Excluding CSD C would create a core hole, therefore, CSD C is included in the CMA to maintain spatial contiguity.

A thick black line outlines the perimeter of CSDs A, B and C to identify the boundary of the CMA.

Two legends appear below the figure. The legend on the left identifies the symbols used in the figure for representing the CMA, CSD, POPCTR and core boundaries. The legend on the right distinguishes which CSDs are included in the CMA according to their inclusion criteria. For this figure, CSDs A, B and C are included under rule 1 (core rule).

For more information on this figure, please contact Statistics Canada at 1-800-263-1136.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Figure 6  Core rule
Date modified: