Figure 8 Reverse commuting flow rule


Figure 8 is a graphical representation of the reverse commuting flow rule (rule 3) for delineating census metropolitan areas (CMAs) and census agglomerations (CAs). A fictional grouping of 11 census subdivisions (CSDs), shown as polygons labelled 'A' through 'K,' represent the group of CSDs that could form a CMA.

All of CSD A and a small portion of the adjacent CSD B are shaded to represent a population centre (POPCTR). This population centre also makes up the core of the CMA. Census subdivision E has a small, shaded polygon within it that identifies a population centre that is not part of the core.

Census subdivision E, which is adjacent to CSD B, has a reverse commuting flow greater than or equal to 25%. This is represented in the figure by an arrow that points from the delineation core (CSDs A, B, and C) to CSD E. Census subdivision E is, therefore, included in the CMA.

A thick black line outlines the perimeter of CSDs A, B, C, D and E to identify the new boundary of the CMA.

Two legends appear below the figure. The legend on the left identifies the symbols used in the figure for representing the CMA, CSD, POPCTR and core boundaries and the reverse commuting flow. The legend on the right distinguishes which CSDs are included in the CMA according to their inclusion criteria. For this figure, CSDs A, B, and C are included under rule 1 (core rule), CSD D is included under rule 2 (forward commuting flow rule) and CSD E is included under rule 3 (reverse commuting flow rule).

For more information on this figure, please contact Statistics Canada at 1-800-263-1136.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Figure 8  Reverse commuting flow rule
Date modified: