Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Adjusted figure due to boundary change

Changes occur to the names, boundaries, and other characteristics of geographic areas (e.g., census subdivisions may amalgamate, or there may be an annexation or a change of name or status). Since the geographic framework is used for census data collection, the geographic reference date must be set several months before the date of the census in order to have these changes made in time. For the 2006 Census, the geographic reference date was January 1, 2006.

Users wishing to compare 2006 Census data with those of other censuses should then take into account that the boundaries of geographic areas may change from one census to another. In order to facilitate comparison, the 2001 Census counts are adjusted as needed to take into account boundary changes between the 2001 and 2006 Censuses. The 2001 counts that were adjusted are identified by the letter 'A'. The letter 'A' may also refer to corrections to the 2001 counts; however, most of these are the result of boundary changes. This symbol is also used to identify areas that have been created since 2001, such as newly incorporated municipalities (census subdivisions) and new designated places (DPLs).

There are 1,289 designated places for the 2006 Census. For the first time, designated places will not straddle census subdivision boundaries. There are 584 census subdivisions that contain designated places.

Back to referring page