Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2006 Community Profiles

About the Community Profiles

The Community Profiles will provide 2006 Census data for 5,418 communities, 288 counties (or their equivalents), 33 large and 111 smaller metropolitan areas.


Communities roughly correspond to municipalities (cities, towns, villages, etc.), Indian reserves or Indian settlements, or geographic areas created by Statistics Canada in cooperation with the provinces and territories as equivalents for municipalities.

Counties (or their equivalents)

Counties or regional districts are groups of neighbouring municipalities joined together for the purposes of regional planning and managing common services (such as police or ambulance services). These groupings are established under laws in effect in certain provinces of Canada. Statistics Canada defines equivalent areas for statistical reporting purposes in cooperation with provinces and territories where laws do not provide for such areas.

Metropolitan areas

Metropolitan areas are comprised of a number of municipalities. Examples of large metropolitan areas (known as census metropolitan areas [CMAs]) are Halifax, Montréal, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver. Examples of the smaller metropolitan areas known as (census agglomerations [CA]) are Corner Brook, Shawinigan, Brandon, Moose Jaw and Vernon.

Place names

The 'Place name search' function will accept over 30,000 place names and automatically link the place name to its corresponding municipality, county or metropolitan area where applicable.

Return to previous page