Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2006 Community Profiles

What is the difference between Calgary (city) and the Census Metropolitan Area of Calgary?

There are 33 census metropolitan areas (CMA [large metropolitan areas]) identified by Statistics Canada. These large areas are made up of smaller municipalities whose population interacts with the central urban area. In the case of Calgary, the larger metropolitan area is made up of the following municipalities:

  • Airdrie (City)
  • Beiseker (Village)
  • Calgary (City)
  • Chestermere (Town)
  • Cochrane (Town)
  • Crossfield (Town)
  • Irricana (Village)
  • Rocky View No. 44 (Municipal District)
  • Tsuu T'ina Nation 145 (Sarcee 145) (Indian reserve)

The 'official' definition of a CMA

The same holds true for the smaller metropolitan areas or census agglomerations (CA) only the population of these areas is smaller.

The 'official' definition of a CA

Return to previous page