2006 Census Topic-based tabulations

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Aboriginal Identity (5), Selected Language Characteristics (21), Age Groups (12), Sex (3) and Inuit Area of Residence (11) for Population of Canada, Provinces, Territories, 2006 Census - 20% Sample Data

About this variable: Inuit area of residence (11)


No definition is available for this variable.


  1. Total - Inuit area of residence Footnote 1
  2. Inuit Nunaat (Inuit regions) Footnote 2
  3. Nunatsiavut
  4. Nunavik
  5. Nunavut
  6. Inuvialuit region
  7. Outside Inuit Nunaat Footnote 7
  8. Rural
  9. Total urban
  10. Urban non-census metropolitan area
  11. Urban census metropolitan area


Footnote 1

'Total - Inuit area of residence' refers to the following types of geographic areas: Inuit Nunaat (Inuit regions), urban census metropolitan area, urban non-census metropolitan area and rural area. These geographic areas can be used to show where the Inuit population is residing.

An urban area has a minimum population concentration of 1,000 persons and a population density of at least 400 persons per square kilometer, based on the current census population count. All territory outside urban areas is classified as rural.

A census metropolitan area (CMA) is a large urban area and has a population of at least 100,000.

Urban non-census metropolitan areas are smaller urban areas with a population of less than 100,000.

Rural areas include remote and wilderness areas and agricultural lands, as well as small towns, villages and other populated places with a population of less than 1,000.

Additional information on the geographic units can be obtained from the 2006 Census Dictionary.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Inuit Nunaat is the homeland of Inuit of Canada. It includes communities in Nunatsiavut (Northern coastal Labrador), Nunavik (Northern Quebec), the territory of Nunavut and the Inuvialuit region (Northwest Territories). These regions collectively encompass the area traditionally used and occupied by Inuit in Canada.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 7

Outside Inuit Nunaat includes all areas outside of Nunatsiavut (Northern coastal Labrador), Nunavik (Northern Quebec), the territory of Nunavut and the Inuvialuit region (Northwest Territories).

Return to footnote 7 referrer