2006 Census Topic-based tabulations

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Aboriginal Identity (8), Area of Residence (6), Age Groups (12) and Sex (3) for the Population of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2006 Census - 20% Sample Data

About this variable: Area of residence (6)


No definition is available for this variable.


  1. Total - Area of residence Footnote 1
  2. On reserve Footnote 2
  3. Rural
  4. Total urban
  5. Urban non-census metropolitan area
  6. Urban census metropolitan area


Footnote 1

'Area of residence' refers to the following geographic areas: on reserve, urban census metropolitan area, urban non-census metropolitan area and rural area. These geographic areas can be used to show where the Aboriginal population is residing.

'On reserve' includes eight census subdivision (CSD) types legally affiliated with First Nations or Indian bands, i.e., Indian reserve (IRI), Indian settlement (S-E), Indian government district (IGD), terres réservées aux Cris (TC), terres réservées aux Naskapis (TK), Nisga'a village (NVL), Nisga'a land (NL) and Teslin land (TL), as well as 35 additional CSDs of various other types that are generally northern communities in Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory, which have large concentrations of Registered Indians.

An urban area has a minimum population concentration of 1,000 persons and a population density of at least 400 persons per square kilometre, based on the current census population count. All territory outside urban areas is classified as rural. On-reserve CSDs are excluded from this category.

A census metropolitan area (CMA) is a large urban area and has a population of at least 100,000.

Urban non-census metropolitan areas are smaller urban areas with a population of less than 100,000.

Rural areas include remote and wilderness areas and agricultural lands, as well as small towns, villages and other populated places with a population of less than 1,000. On-reserve CSDs are excluded from this category.

Additional information on the geographic units can be obtained from the 2006 Census Dictionary.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Users should be aware that the counts for this item are more affected than most by the incomplete enumeration of certain Indian reserves and Indian settlements. The extent of the impact will depend on the geographic area under study. In 2006, a total of 22 Indian reserves and Indian settlements were incompletely enumerated by the census. The populations of these 22 communities are not included in the census counts.

Return to footnote 2 referrer