Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

(Note: Content area on this page may be wider than usual.)

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table 9
Designated place types by province and territory, 2006 Census

DPL type Province/territory 1


  1. There are no designated places for Prince Edward Island, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut for the 2006 Census.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census of Population.

DPL Designated place Newfoundland and Labrador
CFA Class IV area Nova Scotia
LSD Local service district New Brunswick
MDI Municipalité dissoute Quebec
DMU Dissolved municipality Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta
LSB Local service board Ontario
NCM Northern community Manitoba
OHM Organized hamlet Saskatchewan
UNP Unincorporated place Alberta, British Columbia
MET Métis settlement Alberta
IST Island trust British Columbia
SE Aboriginal settlement Yukon Territory