Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) reference maps

The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) provides a systematic classification structure that categorizes all of the geographic area of Canada. The classification is organized in two volumes, each available separately. Volume I describes the classification and related standard geographic areas and place names. It explains the changes between the current version of the SGC and the previous version that impact upon the classification, such as changes in name, type or code, and indicates how the new and old codes relate to one another. Volume II contains reference maps showing boundaries, names, codes and locations of the geographic areas in the classification. For more information regarding Volumes I and II, refer to Geographic classifications.

Note to users: The HTML version of Volume I provides screen-readable definitions, tables and descriptions of the geographic areas portrayed within the Volume II, Information on Reference Maps.

Census years

Please select one of the census years below, then click the ‘Continue’ button at the end of the table to view/download information related to your selection.

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) reference maps, 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016 censuses
Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) reference maps 2016 Archived

… not applicable

The PDF maps on this site are best viewed with Adobe Reader 8.0 or more recent versions.

The maximum dimensions for any SGC map are 91 cm by 132 cm (36 inches by 52 inches).

National maps
Census divisions (Map A)
Census metropolitan areas and census agglomerations (Map B)
Census metropolitan influenced zones (MIZs), census metropolitan areas (CMAs) and census agglomerations (CAs), Statistical Area Classification, Standard Geographical Classification (Map C)
Economic regions and census divisions (Map D)
Census division - census subdivision maps
Index to the Census division - census subdivision maps
Newfoundland and Labrador
Prince Edward Island
Nova Scotia
New Brunswick
Quebec - East part
Quebec - West part
Quebec - North central part
Quebec - South central part
Ontario - South part
Manitoba - South part
Manitoba - North part
Saskatchewan - South part
Saskatchewan - North part
Alberta - South part
Alberta - North part
British Columbia
British Columbia - South central part
British Columbia - South west part
Northwest Territories

Date modified: