Geographical region of Canada

Part A - Short definition:

Not applicable

Part B - Detailed definition:

The geographical regions of Canada are groupings of provinces and territories established for the purpose of statistical reporting. The six geographical regions of Canada are:

  • Atlantic
  • Quebec
  • Ontario
  • Prairies
  • British Columbia
  • Territories

Census years:



Refer to the related definition of Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).

Changes prior to the current census:

Not applicable

Date modified: