Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table 6
Designated place types by province and territory, 2011 Census


This table lists all designated place types, their abbreviations and their distribution by province and territory for the 2011 Census.

Table 6
Designated place types by province and territory, 2011 Census
Designated place type Province/territoryFootnote 1
CFA Class IV area Nova Scotia
DMU Dissolved municipality Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta
DPL Designated place Newfoundland and Labrador
IRI Indian reserve / Réserve indienne British Columbia
IST Island trust British Columbia
LNC Localité non constituée Quebec
LSB Local service board Ontario
LSD Local service district New Brunswick
LUD Local urban district Manitoba
MDI Municipalité dissoute Quebec
MDP Municipal defined places Ontario
MET Métis settlement Alberta
NCM Northern community Manitoba
NVL Nisga'a village British Columbia
OHM Organized hamlet Saskatchewan
SE Aboriginal settlement Yukon
UNP Unincorporated place Alberta, British Columbia
UUC Unincorporated urban centre Manitoba

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: