Dictionary, Census of Population, 2016
Figure 3.3A
Aboriginal languages

Release date: August 2, 2017

Figure 3.3A Aboriginal languages

Description of Figure 3.3A

Figure 3.3A provides an overview of the Aboriginal languages component. The Aboriginal Languages category is broken down into 13 major branches, including: Algonquian, Athabaskan, Haida, Inuit, Iroquoian, Kutenai, Michif, Salish, Siouan, Tlingit, Tsimshian, Wakashan, and Aboriginal languages not otherwise specified. Haida, Kutenai, Michif, Tlingit, and Aboriginal languages not otherwise specified are not broken down further.

By contrast, Algonquian languages are broken down into: Blackfoot; Cree-Montagnais, which includes Atikamekw, Montagnais (Innu), Moose Cree, Naskapi, Northern East Cree, Plains Cree, Southern East Cree, Swampy Cree, Woods Cree, and Cree not otherwise specified; Eastern Algonquian, which includes Malecite and Mi'kmaq; Ojibway-Potawatomi, which includes Algonquin, Ojibway, Oji-Cree and Ottawa (Odawa); and lastly, Algonquian languages not included elsewhere.

Likewise, Athabaskan languages are broken down into Northern Athabaskan and Athabaskan languages not included elsewhere. In turn, Northern Athabaskan is divided into: Babine (Wetsuwet'en), Beaver, Carrier, Chilcotin, Dene, Dogrib (Tlicho), Gwich'in, Sarsi (Sarcee), Sekani, Slavey-Hare, Tahltan, and Tutchone. Further down the hierarchy, Slavey-Hare includes North Slavey (Hare), South Slavey, and Slavey not otherwise specified; Tahltan includes Kaska (Nahani) and Tahltan; meanwhile, Tutchone includes Northern Tutchone and Southern Tutchone.

Inuit languages, for their part, include: Inuinnaqtun (Inuvialuktun), Inuktitut, and Inuit languages not included elsewhere.

Iroquoian languages include: Cayuga, Mohawk, Oneida, and Iroquoian languages not included elsewhere.

Salish languages include: Comox, Lillooet, Shuswap (Secwepemctsin), Straits, Halkomelem, Okanagan, Squamish, Thompson (Ntlakapamux), and Salish languages not included elsewhere.

Siouan languages include: Dakota, Stoney, and Siouan languages not included elsewhere.

Tsimshian languages include: Gitxsan (Gitksan), Nisga'a and Tsimshian.

Lastly, Wakashan languages include: Haisla, Heiltsuk, Kwakiutl (Kwak'wala), Nuu-chah-nulth (Nootka), and Wakashan languages not included elsewhere.

Source: Statistics Canada, Census of Population, 2016.

Date modified: