Dictionary, Census of Population, 2016
Economic region (ER)

Release date: November 16, 2016


An economic region (ER) is a grouping of complete census divisions (CDs), with one exception in Ontario, created as a standard geographic unit for analysis of regional economic activity.

Reported in

2016, 2011, 2006, 2001, 1996 (economic region)

1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (subprovincial region)


Within the province of Quebec, economic regions (régions administratives) are designated by law. In all other provinces and territories, economic regions (ERs) are created by agreement between Statistics Canada and the province/territory concerned. Prince Edward Island and the three territories each consist of one ER. In Ontario, there is one exception where the ER boundary does not respect census division boundaries: the census division of Halton is split between the ER of Hamilton–Niagara Peninsula and the ER of Toronto.

Each economic region is assigned a two-digit code. In order to uniquely identify each ER in Canada, the two-digit province/territory (PR) code must precede the two-digit ER code. For example:

Examples of economic region codes
Table summary
This table displays examples of economic region codes. The information is grouped by province/territory-economic region code (appearing as row headers), economic region name (appearing as column header).
PR-ER code   ER name
10 10 Avalon Peninsula (N.L.)
35 10 Ottawa (Ont.)

Changes to economic regions for the 2016 Census

In Manitoba, the boundary between Southeast  (ER 46 10) and South Central  (ER 46 20) was affected because part of Division No. 3 (CD 46 03) was given to Division No. 2 (CD 46 02) because Franklin, RM (CSD 46 02 025) and Emerson, T (CSD 46 03 033) were amalgamated to form Emerson–Franklin, MU (CSD  46 02 024).

Also in Manitoba, the boundary between South Central  (ER 46 20) and North Central  (ER 46 40) was adjusted because part of Division No. 8 (CD 46 08) was given to Division No. 4 (CD 46 04) because Notre Dame de Lourdes, VL (CSD 46 08 033) and Somerset, VL (CSD 46 04 006) and Lorne, RM (CSD 46 04 063) were amalgamated to form Lorne, MU (CSD 46 04 064).

Table 1.1 (available on February 8, 2017) shows the number of economic regions by province and territory.

Refer to the related definitions of census division (CD); census subdivision (CSD) and Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).

Changes prior to the current census

In New Brunswick, the boundary between Campbellton–Miramichi (ER 13 10) and Fredericton–Oromocto (ER 13 40) was affected because part of Stanley, P (CSD 13 10 036) was taken from York (CD 13 10) and annexed to Upper Miramichi, RCR (CSD 13 09 027) in Northumberland (CD 13 09).

In Ontario, the boundary between London (ER 35 60) and Stratford–Bruce Peninsula (ER 35 80) was affected because part of Perth East, TP (CSD 35 31 030) was taken from Perth (CD 35 31) and annexed to East Zorra-Tavistock, TP (CSD 35 32 038) in Oxford (CD 35 32).

In Alberta, the boundary between Edmonton (ER 48 60) and Banff–Jasper–Rocky Mountain House (ER 48 40) was affected because part of Yellowhead County, MD (48 14 003) was taken from Division No. 14 (CD 48 14) and annexed to Brazeau County, MD (CSD 48 11 032) in Division No. 11 (CD 48 11).

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: