Dictionary, Census of Population, 2016
Province or territory

Release date: November 16, 2016


'Province' and 'territory' refer to the major political units of Canada. From a statistical point of view, province and territory are basic areas for which data are tabulated. Canada is divided into 10 provinces and 3 territories.

Reported in

2016, 2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971, 1966, 1961


Statistics Canada uses standard codes and abbreviations to represent provinces and territories. The two-digit code that uniquely identifies each province/territory is based on the Standard Geographical Classification (SGC). The code is assigned from east to west. The first digit represents the geographical region of Canada in which the province/territory is located and the second digit denotes one of the 10 provinces and 3 territories (Table 1.8).

Table 1.8
Abbreviations and codes for provinces and territories, 2016 Census

Table 1.8
Abbreviations and codes for provinces and territories, 2016 Census
Table summary
This table displays the results of Abbreviations and codes for provinces and territories, 2016 Census. The information is grouped by Province/Territory (appearing as row headers), Standard abbreviations English/French, Internationally approved alpha code (Source: Canada Post), Standard geographical classification (SGC) code and Region name (appearing as column headers).
Province/Territory Standard abbreviations
Internationally approved
alpha code
(Source: Canada Post)
Standard geographical
classification (SGC) code
Region name
Newfoundland and Labrador N.L./T.-N.-L. NL 10 Atlantic
Prince Edward Island P.E.I./Î.-P.-É. PE 11 Atlantic
Nova Scotia N.S./N.-É. NS 12 Atlantic
New Brunswick N.B./N.-B. NB 13 Atlantic
Quebec Que./Qc QC 24 Quebec
Ontario Ont./Ont. ON 35 Ontario
Manitoba Man./Man. MB 46 Prairies
Saskatchewan Sask./Sask. SK 47 Prairies
Alberta Alta./Alb. AB 48 Prairies
British Columbia B.C./C.-B. BC 59 British Columbia
Yukon Y.T./Yn YT 60 Territories
Northwest Territories N.W.T./T.N.-O. NT 61 Territories
Nunavut Nvt./Nt NU 62 Territories

Refer to the related definitions of census division (CD) and Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).

Changes prior to the current census

Effective October 20, 2008, the names 'Yukon Territory' in English and 'Territoire du Yukon' in French become 'Yukon' in English and in French, as per the Yukon Act (Chapter 7, assented March 27, 2002).

Users should be aware that there is no change to the abbreviations or to the numeric and alpha codes for Yukon. The abbreviations remain Y.T. in English and Yn in French, 60 for the numeric code and YT for the alpha code.

On October 21, 2002, the alpha code for the province of Newfoundland and Labrador changed from NF to NL. Furthermore, the official English abbreviation for Newfoundland and Labrador changed from Nfld.Lab. to N.L. The official French abbreviation remains unchanged.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: